Game Dev for Dummies

As a complete and utter noob, I wanted to dip my toe in the metaphorical ocean of programming before I’m pushed in at university. It had to be something fun and rewarding to keep me interested, so I chose a Unity course which features a bit of C# programming. It’s called Learn to Code by Making Games – Complete Unity 5 Developer and is run by Ben Tristem and Brice Fernandes. It was completely funded by kickstarter and is constantly being updated with new material and changes based on learner feedback.

I know some of the expert programmers among you may tut at starting with a more Object Oriented approach but I felt that going straight into C or the like would lose me and my interest too quickly. The course is split up into projects where you end up with a more or less finished game so there’s always a sense of accomplishment.

Project 1: Number Wizard
The first project was ‘Number Wizard’ – a purely console-based number guessing game which uses a binary search algorithm and user input. You pick a number between set boundaries and by giving Higher and Lower feedback, the “game” will guess the right answer… eventually 🙂

    Things I have learned:

  • About functions/methods including Start() and Update()
  • Unity and Monodevelop layout and basic functions
  • Printing a string to the console:
    (Of course, using our old friend “Hello World!”)
  • Declaring and initialising variables
  • Responding to key presses
  • Using IF and ELSE statements
  • Commenting your code

It’s not an amazing amount to start off with but baby steps, right?

Go to: Part One | Part Two | Part Three |

About Georgie

At 24 years of age, I have finally accepted my inner nerd. It's time to finally tell the world! Electronics student with a love for all things geek and gaming. Grab a cup of tea and let's talk Star Wars.
This entry was posted in Games, Programming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Game Dev for Dummies

  1. Keira says:

    We learn C++ at uni, so another object-oriented programming language. I’m learning about Operating systems now so we are looking at C and…I’m kinda glad I started with C++ o.0

    My very first experience with programming was copying BASIC codes to “create” games on my C64, games are a great way to learn programming – even if you aren’t going for game development 🙂 It’s probably more interesting than the accounting and staffing type programs I’m making 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Game Dev for Dummies (Part 3) | HexDrag3on

  3. Pingback: Game Dev for Dummies (Part Four) | HexDrag3on

Leave a Reply

